Call 305.728.7116

Temporary Protected Status

Immigration may designate a foreign country for Temporary Protected Status (TPS)  due to conditions in the country that temporarily prevent the country's nationals from returning safely, or in certain circumstances, where the country is unable to handle the return of its nationals adequately.  USCIS may grant TPS to eligible nationals of certain countries (or parts of countries), who are already in the United States.  Eligible individuals without nationality who last resided in the designated country may also be granted TPS.

A country may be designated for TPS due to the following temporary conditions in the country: 

  • Ongoing armed conflict (such as civil war)
  • An environmental disaster (such as earthquake or hurricane), or an epidemic
  • Other extraordinary and temporary conditions

During a designated period, individuals who are TPS beneficiaries or who are found preliminarily eligible for TPS upon initial review of their cases (prima facie eligible):

  • Are not removable from the United States
  • Can obtain an employment authorization document (EAD)
  • May be granted travel authorization
  • Once granted TPS, an individual also cannot be detained by DHS on the basis of his or her immigration status in the United States.
  • TPS is a temporary benefit that does not lead to lawful permanent resident status.

Some of the counties designated for TPS are:

  • El Salvador
  • Guinea
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Liberia
  • Nepal
  • Nicaragua
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • Sudan
  • South Sudan
  • Syria
  • Yemen

If you are from one of these countries, you may be eligible for TPS. If you are from one of these counties, it is recommended you consult with an experienced immigration attorney to determine if you meet the other requirements. Contact Dorsett Immigration Law now for your free consultation.